Sportsmanship Triumphs In First Ever TMAT Inter-Academy Sports Competition

Image title

Year 7 and 8 students from all four Tollbar Multi Academy Trust Secondary Academies, who took part in an Inter-Academy Netball Competition. They are: Marni George (Cleethorpes Academy), Cody Corby (Louth Academy), Ava Payne (Tollbar Academy), Teigan Mummery (Somercotes Academy), Abbie Gurnhill (Tollbar Academy) Lily Smith (Cleethorpes Academy) Amelia Donner (Somercotes Academy) and Faith Jacklin (Louth Academy).

More than 200 students from four secondary academies competed in the first ever Tollbar Multi Academy Trust Inter-Academy Sports Competition. Year 7 and 8 Football and Netball teams from Tollbar, Cleethorpes, Somercotes and Louth Academies took part in the event on a dull and damp afternoon, which did not dent their enthusiasm.

Students competed against one another, demonstrating teamwork and high levels of skill. Cleethorpes Academy won the Year 7 Netball competition, with Tollbar Academy winning the Year 8 Netball competition. Tollbar Academy also won the combined Year 7 and 8 Football competition.

Amy Gowshall, Curriculum Leader for P.E. at Tollbar Academy, said: "This was a fantastic event for the students from all of the academies, despite the weather. All of the students were very competitive and worked very well as teams, demonstrating high levels of sportsmanship. The aim for the future is for the format of this event to run across several sports with each of the Academies hosting a competition."

Image title

The Cleethorpes Academy Team, who won the Tear 7 TMAT Inter-Academy Netball Competition. They are (left to right) Alishia Romagnuolo, Jasmin Blastland, Ruby Massey, Taylor Gray, Emily Killingworth, Sophie Marshall and Marni George.

Image title

The Tollbar Academy team, who won the Year 8 TMAT Inter-Academy Netball Competition. They are: Simphiwe Ncube, Jude Hall, Georgia Blakey, Ellie East, Kiki Ramsden, Emily Ennis, Layla Brown and Abbie Gurnhill.

Image title

The Year7/8 TMAT Inter-Academy Football Tournament winners were Tollbar Academy. They are: Back row (left to right) Benjamin Leggett, Adam Hewson, Harvey Beckett, Oakley Castle, Awas Gnedi, Harry Brown, Anthony Wilson and Archie Buckingham. Bottom row (left to right) Ben Cian, Nicholas Young, Daniel McDougall, Joshuah Fawcett, Harry Telford, Ellis Bailey and Oliver Spence.

Image title

Louth Academy Year 7 and 8 Football Teams who took part in the Inter-Academy Competition.

Image title

Somercotes Academy Netball Team.

Tollbar MAT Chairman

Philip Bond

Tollbar MAT Chief Executive

David J Hampson OBE, BSc, BA.